Last Updated on 23rd May 2019

Bhutan is the first country in the world with specific constitutional obligations on its people to protect the environment. Among its requirements: At least 60 percent of the nation must remain under forest cover at all times. Bhutan has one decentralized university with eleven constituent colleges spread across the kingdom, the Royal University of Bhutan. The first five-year plan provided for a central education authority.

Royal University of BhutanRoyal University of Bhutan

The Royal University of Bhutan was launched on 2nd June 2003 to provide tertiary education in Bhutan. The Royal Charter and the Statutes provide the legal instruments for the University. The Royal University of Bhutan offers programmes leading to awards at various levels: Diploma, Degree, Honours Degree, Postgraduate Certificate, Postgraduate Diploma and Master Degree.

See also  Bahrain Universities Ranking, List of the Universities in Bahrain

Address: Thimphu, Bhutan
Phone: +975 2 336 454

The colleges under the Royal University of Bhutan are:

  1. College of Natural Resources (CNR) in Lobesa, Punakha
  2. College of Science and Technology (CST) in Rinchhending, Phuntsholing
  3. Gaeddu College of Business Studies (GCBS) in Gedu, Chukha
  4. College of Language and Culture Studies (CLCS) in Taktse, Trongsa.
  5. Jigme Namgyel Engineering College (JNEC) in Dewathang, Samdrup Jongkhar
  6. Paro College of Education (PCE) in Paro
  7. Royal Thimphu College (RTC) in Ngabiphu, Thimphu (Affiliated college)
  8. Samtse College of Education (SCE) in Samtse
  9. Sherubtse College in Kanglung, Trashigang

The Royal University of Bhutan offers following programs:

  1. teacher education,
  2. business and management,
  3. engineering and physical sciences,
  4. computing and information science,
  5. biological sciences and agriculture,
  6. health sciences,
  7. humanities and social sciences,
  8. Dzongkha language and literature.

Royal Thimphu College (RTC)

Royal Thimphu College (RTC) is Bhutan’s first private college. The college offers general degree programs under the Royal University of Bhutan. RTC campus is located in an area of 25 acres of land in Ngabiphu.

See also  Top Universities in Netherlands | Netherlands Universities Ranking 2018

RTC Address
Royal Thimphu College
Ngabiphu, Thimphu
PO Box: 1122
PABX: (975) 02-351801/02-351802
Fax: (975) 02-351806
E-mail: info @

The Royal Institute of Management (RIM)

The institute was established in 1986 and was incorporated as an autonomous institute in 1990 under the Royal Charter with a Board of Directors as its governing authority. As the only Government management Institute, RIM has been solely engaged in supporting the human resource development need of the country, especially for the civil service.

Contact Address of RIM
Royal Institute of Management
Post Box No 416
Simtokha, Thimphu (11001)
Telephone : +975 2 351014/12/13


See also  Top Universities in Cyprus | Best Cyprus Universities Ranking

Khesar Gyalpo University of Medical Sciences of Bhutan

Address: Menkhang Lam, Thimphu, Bhutan
Phone: +975 2 328 997

College of Science and Technology

The College of Science and Technology is an institute in Rinchending, Phuentsholing, Bhutan. It is the only engineering college in the country providing a degree level education.

College of Science and Technology Offers following Programs:
Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Electronics and Communication Engineering and Information Technology Engineering and Bachelor’s degree in Architecture.


Jigme Namgyel Polytechnic

A premier Institute of applied engineering, management and technology towards developing highly competent and innovative technical personnel infused with the values of Gross National Happiness.
Jigme Namgyel Engineering College
Dewathang, Samdrup Jongkhar, Bhutan
Tel. No.: 00975-07-260-302
Fax No.: 00975-07-260-289
Email: [email protected]