Last Updated on 16th August 2016

Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology, commonly known as BUET, is a renowned public university in Bangladesh, which focuses on the study of engineering and architecture. About 5500 students are pursuing undergraduate and postgraduate studies in engineering, architecture, planning and science in this institution. At present, BUET has sixteen teaching departments under five faculties and it has three institutes. Every year the intake of undergraduate students is around 900, while the intake of graduate students in Masters and PhD programs is around 1000. A total of about five hundred teachers are teaching in these departments and institutes. There are additional teaching posts like Dr. Rashid Professor, Professor Emeritus and Supernumerary Professors.

Admission Information of BUET

See also  Islamic Arabic University | Admission and Programs

Faculties and Departments
Academic activities are undertaken by eighteen departments under five faculties. Twelve departments offer undergraduate courses. All of the departments aside from the department of Humanities offer postgraduate courses.

Faculty of Architecture and Planning
Department of Architecture (Arch)
Department of Urban and Regional Planning (URP)
Department of Humanities (Hum)
Faculty of Civil Engineering
Department of Civil Engineering (CE)
Department of Water Resources Engineering (WRE)
Faculty of Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering (EEE)
Department of Computer Science and Engineering (CSE)
Department of Biomedical Engineering (BME)
Faculty of Mechanical Engineering
Department of Mechanical Engineering (ME)
Department of Industrial and Production Engineering (IPE)
Department of Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering (NAME)
Faculty of Engineering
Department of Chemical Engineering (ChE)
Department of Materials and Metallurgical Engineering (MME)
Department of Chemistry (Chem)
Department of Mathematics (Math)
Department of Physics (Phys)
Department of Petroleum and Mineral Resources Engineering (PMRE)
Department of Glass and Ceramic Engineering (GCE)

See also  Bangladesh Agricultural University

At present there are six institutes in BUET. These institutes offer postgraduate diplomas, master’s and doctoral degrees:

Institute of Water and Flood Management (IWFM)
Institute of Appropriate Technology (IAT)
Institute of Information and Communication Technology (IICT)
Accident Research Institute (ARI)
BUET-Japan Institute of Disaster Prevention and Urban Safety (BUET-JIDPUS)
Institute of Nuclear Power Engineering (INPE)

Research Centers
Centre for Energy Studies (CES)
Centre for Environmental and Resource Management (CERM)
Biomedical Engineering Centre (BEC)
Bureau of Research, Testing and Consultation (BRTC)
International Training Network Centre (ITN)
Bangladesh Network Office for Urban Safety (BNUS)

Directorate of Advisory, Extension and Research Services (DAERS)
Directorate of Students’ Welfare (DSW)
Directorate of Planning and Development (P&D)
Directorate of Continuing Education (DCE)

See also  BSMRU-Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman University, Kishoreganj

Journals and Research Bulletins
Journal of Mechanical Engineering Research and Developments
Chemical Engineering Research Bulletin
Bangladesh Journal of Water Resources Research
Electrical and Electronic Engineering Research Bulletin
Protibesh (Research Journal on Architecture)

BUET Address

Bangladesh University of Engineering & Technology
Dhaka-1000, Bangladesh
Fax : (880 2) 8613046
PABX : (880 2) 55167100, 55167228-57
Note for Email Address:
Please add after the given Email ID to obtain the email address. For example, the email address [email protected] can be obtained from Email ID nameid@off