Last Updated on 11th July 2024

Commonwealth Professional Fellowships 2025: Empowering Professionals from Commonwealth Nations

australia awards scholarship

The Commonwealth Scholarship Commission of the UK is pleased to announce the opening of applications for the Commonwealth Professional Fellowships for the year 2025. This prestigious program aims to support mid-career professionals from Commonwealth countries by providing opportunities for professional development in the United Kingdom.

About the Fellowship Program

The Commonwealth Professional Fellowships are part of the UK government’s commitment to fostering collaboration and knowledge exchange among Commonwealth nations. Through this fellowship, professionals have the chance to enhance their skills and expertise in their respective fields while contributing to their home countries’ development upon their return.

Financial Support

Selected fellows will receive comprehensive financial support to facilitate their stay and activities in the UK:

  • Airfare: Round-trip airfare to and from the UK.
  • Living Allowance: A monthly stipend of £2,057 is provided to cover living expenses during the fellowship period. For fellows residing in the London metropolitan area, the monthly allowance is increased to £2,553.
  • Visa Fees: Coverage of visa processing fees to facilitate entry into the UK.
  • Travel Grant: A travel allowance of £1,156.60 is provided for transportation to and from the UK.
  • Development Grants: Up to £3,000 is available to support attendance at conferences, workshops, and other professional development activities in the UK.
See also  Simmons University Kotzen Scholarships for International Students

Eligible Countries

Citizens from the following Commonwealth countries are eligible to apply for the fellowship: Bangladesh, Belize, Botswana, Cameroon, Dominica, Eswatini, Fiji, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, St Helena, St Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Samoa, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Togo, Tonga, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia.

Application Process

Eligibility Criteria:

To qualify for the Commonwealth Professional Fellowship, applicants must meet the following criteria:

  • Citizenship: Be a permanent resident of one of the eligible Commonwealth countries or hold refugee status.
  • Employment: Be currently employed in a relevant field, with a commitment to return to their current employment upon completion of the fellowship.
  • Education: Hold a bachelor’s degree or equivalent qualification.
  • Experience: Have at least five years of full-time or part-time work experience in a field relevant to the fellowship.
See also  ICCR Scholarship for Higher Education in India

Required Documents:

Applicants are required to submit the following documents as part of their application:

  • Identification: Passport or national ID card with a clear photograph.
  • Curriculum Vitae (CV): A detailed resume highlighting educational background, work experience, and any relevant skills or certifications.
  • Academic Credentials: Copies of academic transcripts, diplomas, or certificates.
  • Fellowship Application Form: Complete the online application form provided on the official website.
  • Personal Statement: A statement outlining the applicant’s career goals, how they plan to utilize the fellowship experience, and their contribution to their home country upon their return.
  • References: Three letters of reference, including one from the applicant’s current employer or supervisor, highlighting the applicant’s professional achievements and suitability for the fellowship.
  • Development Impact Statement: A detailed statement describing how the fellowship will contribute to the applicant’s professional development and impact on their home country.

How to Apply:

Interested candidates can apply online through the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission’s official website. The application deadline for the 2025 Commonwealth Professional Fellowships is August 5th. For detailed eligibility criteria, application guidelines, and to submit your application, please visit here.

See also  Dutch Bangla Bank Scholarship 2016

Benefits of the Fellowship

The Commonwealth Professional Fellowship offers numerous benefits, including:

  • Professional Growth: Opportunity to enhance skills and knowledge through hands-on experience and training in leading UK institutions.
  • Networking: Build professional networks and collaborate with experts in the field.
  • Knowledge Exchange: Share experiences and best practices with peers from around the world.
  • Career Advancement: Develop leadership capabilities and gain exposure to international perspectives.


The Commonwealth Professional Fellowship is a gateway to professional advancement and global collaboration. It provides mid-career professionals from Commonwealth countries with the opportunity to contribute to their countries’ sustainable development goals through enhanced skills and knowledge gained in the UK. Embrace this opportunity to make a lasting impact on your career and community.

Apply now and take the first step towards a transformative experience with the Commonwealth Professional Fellowship! For more information and to begin your application, visit the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission’s official website.