Last Updated on 6th March 2020

Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships 2020 for Students of Developing Countries:

Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships for International Students

Applications are now open for Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships 2020 for Students of Developing Countries who are willing to study and earn a degree program in the United Kingdom. Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships are for candidates from least developed, low and lower middle income Commonwealth countries for part-time Master’s study by distance learning offered by UK universities.

UK universities offered Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships for the candidates from lower developed, low and lower middle income Commonwealth countries for the part-time Master’s degree study by distance learning on selected courses. These opportunities are funded by the UK Department for International Development (DFID).

See also  Friedrich Ebert Stiftung Scholarship 2024/25 | Study in Germany

Purpose of the Scholarship:

For contributing to the development needs of Commonwealth countries by providing training to skilled and qualified professionals in some areas.

Details of the Scholarship

  1. Scholarship Sponsor(s): UK Department for International Development (DFID).
  2. Scholarship Type: Full Scholarship.
  3. Scholarship level: Available for Masters Programs
  4. Scholarship Worth: The amount of scholarship is not stated, but it will be fully-funded.
  5. Subject Eligibility: All programs under the distance learning scheme.
  6. Eligible Countries: International Students (Commonwealth countries).

You may also visit: Commonwealth Scholarships in Low and Middle Income Countries

Type and duration of the study

Awards are for the full-time/part-time study of a taught course at the postgraduate level by distance learning and not for research degrees or undergraduate studies.
Funding is available for up to five academic years from the start of an approved program. Awards cannot be extended or renewed.

See also  The University of Saskatchewan Scholarship for International Students

Scholarship Covers:

  • Course tuition fees
  • Grant to contribute to study-related costs
  • Partnership development costs
  • Any UK residential program (s)

Eligibility of candidates

  • The university is responsible for ensuring its candidates meet the CSC’s criteria of eligibility.
  • To apply for a Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship, candidates must:
  • Be a citizen of or be granted refugee status from an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person
  • Be permanently and continually resident in an eligible Commonwealth country
  • Hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) standard. A lower qualification and sufficient relevant experience may be considered in certain cases
  • All candidates must provide at least one reference 
  • All candidates must hold an offer to start their chosen course of study in 2020
See also  Chevening scholarships offered by British HC

Selection criteria include:

  • candidate’s Academic merit
  • The potential impact of the work on the development of the candidate’s home country

Eligible Commonwealth countries

  • Bangladesh
  • Cameroon
  • Eswatini
  • The Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Guyana
  • India
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mozambique
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Rwanda
  • Samoa
  • Sierra Leone
  • Solomon Islands
  • Sri Lanka
  • Tanzania
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Vanuatu
  • Zambia

Application Deadline: 16.00 (GMT) on 13 April, 2020

Visit the Official Website for Further Information.