Last Updated on 2nd June 2021

Eight Private Universities running unapproved buildings

Private Universities running unapproved campuses

Private Universities running unapproved campuses:– Hon’ble Education Minister Dr Dipu Moni, MP told parliament that eight private universities of Bangladesh were operating in illegal buildings in the capital. The education minister said this in response to a question from ruling party MP Mamunur Rashid on Wednesday. Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury presided over the meeting.
Dr. Dipu Moni, MP said 08 private universities have conducted their activities in illegal buildings in the capital. According to the Private University Act, there is no scope for running a branch or campus of a private university in the place/city mentioned in the provisional certificate issued in favor of the concerned private university. At present, some private universities in Bangladesh violating that condition of the law.

See also  Medical Admission test on 07 October 2016

The name of the private universities are given below:

  1. The University of South Asia
  2. Stamford University, Bangladesh
  3. Daffodil International University
  4. Victoria University of Bangladesh
  5. Uttara University
  6. University of Development Alternative
  7. Southeast University and
  8. Northern University Bangladesh

The above-mentioned universities conducting educational activities at unauthorized buildings instead of their approved buildings / Campus.

The education minister said the Bangladesh University Grants Commission has instructed these universities to close unauthorized buildings. For the awareness of students, parents or the public, the names of these universities have been given a red star on the website of the Bangladesh University Grants Commission and the names of these universities have also been mentioned in the public notice.

See also  Govt shuts outer campuses of all private varsities

Besides, there are two illegal campuses of IBAIS University in Uttara and Banani and an illegal branch of the University of Comilla in Uttara of Dhaka city, the minister said.